The Chakra System And How It Is Useful in Our Daily Life

"Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “Disk or Wheel”.  It refers to the energy points in your body corresponding to specific nerve bundles and main organs."

You must have heard or read "Talk to me when your Chakras are aligned!" or the term "Chakra" at least once in your life. 

But if you are still clueless as to what this is? 

Don't worry; we've got you covered.

So What is Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit term that means "disc or wheel." It is based on the energy sources in your body that correlate to different nerve bundles and organs. It originated from India. But now, different cultures from all around the world have identified these energy centers in the body. 

Moreover, there are ways to balance them, make them overactive, or align them such that the body, mind, and soul are in total energetic harmony.

Chakra plays a vital role in the flow of energy in your body. All chakras being in balance can lead to a beautiful, peaceful life. It is also essential to unblock or open your chakras.

So that's the gist of it.

Seven primary chakras go along your spine, although several of them. Mostly these are referred to when we talk about chakras.

These seven chakras are,

  1. Crown Chakra
  2. Third Eye Chakra
  3. Throat Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Solar Plexus Chakra
  6. Sacral Chakra
  7. Root Chakra

Each chakra has its own number, name, color, precise point, and location on the spinal column from the sacrum to the crown.

Let's dig deep into each one of them.

Crown Chakra

Color: Purple

Location: Top of the head

Purpose: Enhances Spirituality, Increases Intelligence

The crown chakra, also called Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. The head is the temple of your body. Hence, the crown chakra is a symbol of your spiritual connection to others, the universe, and yourself. It also helps you to find out the higher purpose of your life.

So, with the balanced crown chakra, you can achieve consciousness, bliss, strong faith, and spirit. On the other hand, you might feel depression, lack of decision-making, and lack of consciousness due to a blocked crown chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

Color: Indigo

Location: Between the eyes

Purpose: Develops Intuition, Increases Imagination

Ajna, or the third eye chakra, is pinpointed between your eyes. The third eye chakra governs your ability to think up new possibilities and bring them into your life. Your gut instinct is governed by this chakra. It's like a third eye awakening. This chakra symbolizes your intuition, manifestation, physic abilities, inner wisdom, visualization, and clarity of thoughts. This is because the third eye controls instinct. It's also associated with imagination.

So, the balanced third eye chakra helps you experience visions beyond the physical realm. And you are tuned with your intuitions. You can feel things; you can be imaginative and creative. Whereas your third eye chakra might be blocked if you can't hear your intuition, have poor creativity or have a poor imagination. 

Throat Chakra

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

Purpose: Regulates Expression, Improves Communication

As the name suggests, it's about communication. The throat chakra is called Vishuddha. As the name state, this chakra is in charge of our ability to communicate vocally.


If your throat chakra is balanced, that means you have clear communication. You'll speak and listen with compassion. You'll be confident in your words because you feel like you have significant and creative expressions.

In contrast, if your throat chakra is blocked, you'll have problems expressing yourself. You may have issues with communicating with others, involving in arguments, and speaking your mind. The unbalanced throat chakra also affects the listening abilities. If you are not behaving like a good listener, you might have blocked throat chakra.

Heart Chakra

Color: Green

Location: Centre of the chest

Purpose: Regulates Emotions, Creates Compassion

The heart chakra, or  Anahata, is pinpointed near your heart, in the center of your chest. You can express love and compassion from this chakra.

 It connects your higher and lower chakras and the ability to love and connect with others because it is in the center of the seven chakras. When the chakras are out of whack, you feel lonely, insecure, and isolated.

Have a balanced heart chakra; you experience feelings of unconditional love, peace, compassion, gratitude, acceptance, and forgiveness. And you'll have meaningful relationships. But with the block heart chakra, you might be a little bitter or hateful. 

Heart problems, asthma, and weight problems can all be symptoms of blockages in the heart chakra. 

Solar Plexus Chakra:

Color: Yellow

Location: In the Stomach Area

Purpose: Regulates Self Esteem, Improves Confidence level

Located in the stomach, the solar plexus chakra is also known as Manipura. Your self-esteem and confidence are governed by this chakra. Having a balanced solar plexus chakra, you have a great self-image, self-esteem, willpower, and assertiveness. You feel like you are in control of your life. At the same time, blocked solar plexus chakra results in low self-esteem, powerlessness, submissiveness, and inferiority complex.

Ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion are all frequent signs of Solar Plexus Chakra obstructions.

Sacral Chakra: 

Color: Orange

Location: Lower Abdomen

Purpose: Improves Creativity, Pleasure

Svadhisthana, or sacral chakra, is located in the lower abdomen. This chakra controls your sexual and creative energy. It is also linked to how you handle your emotions. A balanced sacral chakra makes you feel joy, pleasure, nurturing sexuality, sensuality, and deep emotions like passion and optimism.

The sacral chakra blockage can also be sensed by lower back pain, impotence, and urinary tract infections. This chakra is emotionally linked to our sentiments of self-worth, particularly our thoughts of self-worth related to pleasure, sexuality, and creativity.

Root Chakra:

Color: Red

Location: Base of the Spine

Purpose: Regulates Survival, Stability, and Physical identity

At the base of your spine, there is your 's Muladhara chakra, also known as called root chakra. It provides your life's foundation. It also helps you feel grounded and capable of overcoming obstacles. The root chakra controls your sense of security, survival needs, and stability. 

You feel safe, secure, content, and happy to be alive when you have a balanced root chakra. When the root chakra is blocked, you feel uncertainty, financial instability, anxiety, and fear.

Physical problems like arthritis, constipation and intestinal issues are also symptoms of the blocked root chakra.

Final Takeaway

Now you know all about chakras and what are the effects of blocked chakras on one's body. By now, you would also identify which of your chakras are blocked or a bit out of balance. And you would probably be thinking of balancing your chakras. Well, it's not a problem. You can easily balance your chakras yourself at home. Yes! 

You have an excellent global online holistic platform You can unblock and rebalance your chakras by performing yoga practices through meditation and breath works offered on the platform. Just join any courses and free your way from root to crown.